Home Decorating

Shelf+Knobs

Every Saturday, when I’m home, I go to the Habitat for Humanity Restore.  I never knew about it until a couple months ago but it is AWESOME! It is basically like a gigantic garage sale all in one large room.  They have everything: furniture, toilets, doors, ladders, boards, shutters, lamps, and the list goes on and on and on.  I have to go through it all like 5 times just to take everything in and I’m sure I still miss cool stuff.  Most cities have one; just google, “Habitat for Humanity Restore, (your cities name)” to find out where and when.

I bought this shelf for $2.00 at the Restore:

home design 027

home design 029

A lot of peeling paint and a lot of holes

home design 031

Definitely not the prettiest thing but I saw potential

I first stripped all of the many, many layers of paint. (Side-note: When you do this wear a mask and make sure you are in a well ventilated area. When you are stripping paint on old pieces the paint may be so old that it has lead in it and that can cause brain damage. And nobody likes brain damage.)

The stripper worked good, but I did have to put 2 coats on because there were so many layers of paint. I also filled all the holes with a wood filler.

Here’s what it looked like when I was all done stripping it and filling the holes:

august2013 001

I painted the shelf white; it took 3 coats to cover it. I sanded it with fine sand paper and then stained it and wiped the stain off with a wet paper towel because I didn’t want it to be too dark.  I added knobs and here’s how it turned out:

009 010

016      021

017        020

013                   018

I’m going to use it in my entry-way for us to hang coats, purses, etc. on. I will post pics of that area when I have it all finished!

I love how it turned out!

One thought on “Shelf+Knobs

  1. Pingback: Little Entry-Way |

Leave a Reply

