Paint

Don’t Throw Out Those Old Kitchen Cabinets!

A couple months ago Jayde officially was potty-trained! Streamers went shooting across the air, balloons were blown, cake was eaten, confetti came fluttering down from the sky…..well, in my head anyways!

But, traveling seems to take much longer with her along for the ride now.  She has figured out that if she says she has to go to the bathroom she gets to get out of the car. Hence, why we stopped a total of 4 times in what was supposed to be a 5 hour drive and went to the bathroom 3 times while eating at Pizza Hut for an hour.

And the Million Dollar Question:  How do I know if she’s telling the truth or not?

Let me know if you know the answer.

And if you do you’ll win a Million Dollars!!!!!!!

I was at the ReStore and they had a TON of old cabinets.  I kept walking by them trying to figure out what I could do with one of them.  And then it hit me…A Chalkboard!

I bought 2, each one $6.00.

Here’s a before picture:

007

Your basic kitchen cabinet.

I removed the hardware and filled the holes with wood filler. I put a small piece of tape on the backside of the cabinet to hold the filler in.

I gave it 2 coats of primer.

I painted the chalkboard paint on.  You want to at least give it 3 coats and wait 4 hours in-between each coat.  You  have to wait 3 days before you can write on it.

IMPORTANT!:  You MUST prime your chalkboard before writing on it or else whatever you write on it will be permanently a part of your board. You prime it by taking the side of the chalk, rubbing it all over the board a couple times and then erasing it.  Then it is ready to use!

Here is it After:

079

I painted the edge a Fall color so I could use it as a Decoration.  It was fun putting the “Fall theme” on the chalkboard.  There are really great ideas for different sayings on Pinterest!

You could also do Red for Christmas, etc.

078 075 073

I can’t wait ’til it actually starts feeling like Fall so I can put the rest of my Fall decorations out.

I have more I am working on…one for Jayde, one for above my kitchen cabinets and I plan on getting more to use around my house because I just love it so much 🙂

3 thoughts on “Don’t Throw Out Those Old Kitchen Cabinets!

Leave a Reply

