Home Decorating

Easy-Peasy Bench

I can hammer in a nail, drill in a screw, use a jigsaw(just recently learned), sand wood down, and paint anything.   Can you?

If you answered yes, then you too can make this bench! And if you answered no then just find someone who can 🙂

This was the first thing I built and with a little help from Matt it was way easier than I thought it would be.

Our entry-way is VERY small.  It is 68inx48in.  I’ve never really done anything with it before because it is so small but I have been working on making it a more useable, defined place.

I wanted a bench for the area behind our door, but that area is only a little over a foot wide.  I looked for months and couldn’t find a reasonably priced bench that would fit the area.

I then came across this side table idea from: http://www.lizmarieblog.com/2012/11/diy-5-board-end-table/

But instead of making a table, I thought the same idea would work for a bench.

014

This literally took us 20-30 minutes to build. And it cost us less than $30.00. Woohoo.

015

Here’s what it looks like from the side.  It’s only a little over a foot wide.

017

I filled in the holes where the screws were with wood filler.

018

I found this grey/brown color at Home Depot for $.50 cents.

019

Gave it 2 coats of primer.

024

Gave it 2 coats of paint.

025

Sanded the edges a little, sealed it with a wax, and Wa-lah! Done!

034

A perfect fit.

036

The bench adds so much to this area and it was so easy and cheap to make!

I have a few more things to do in this area….stay tuned for the reveal soon!

One thought on “Easy-Peasy Bench

  1. Pingback: Little Entry-Way |

Leave a Reply

