Paint

Dresser Re-Do

It snowed today! The really pretty kind of snow; huge, fluffy flakes.

You may be thinking, snow? In October?

Yep.

Of course once they hit the ground most of them melted right away.

But some of it stayed long enough for Jayde to go play in it….

009

Well kind of play in……..as you can see there’s not much there

So, I’ve been working on this project for quite some time and finally finished it the other night.

Our basement is a work in progress…. we have carpet and the walls painted but still no trim, doors, or bathroom after 4 1/2 years of living here which is pretty annoying but I know with time that will all come.  But in the meantime I’m working on sprucing it up and making it as “home-y” as I can.

Matt’s parents gave us this dresser:

HOME DESIGN 003 HOME DESIGN 002

I had already removed the drawers on it and the middle cabinet.

Sometimes I tend to get a little ahead of myself.

So I gave it 2 coats of primer and painted it a white/cream color that I got at the Habitat for Humanity Re-Store for $5.00. I sanded it, mostly on the edges of the piece and applied a wax on top to protect it from scratches, scrapes, etc.

I decided to keep the original hardware and spray painted them black.

I left the middle cabinet off to give it more of a buffet table feel.

Here is what she looks like after:

043

038

034

035

036

037

040

I used the same technique on the turquoise mirror as I did this headboard: https://berryberryquitecontrary.wordpress.com/2013/08/19/distressed-turquoise-headboard/

It really brightens up the basement and gives it a “home-ier” feel.

Don’t you like how I make up my own words?

Sharing With: Craft-O-Maniac, AlderberryHill , CozyLittleHouse, CoastalCharm

One thought on “Dresser Re-Do

Leave a Reply

