Paint

Out With the New, In With the Old:Dresser/Changing Table

It’s my Aubree’s birthday tomorrow. She will be one.

One year ago I met this tiny little person and instantly fell in love.

Aubree 719

I remember bringing her home. The sun was shining but there was a crispness in the air. I remember everything the first few weeks of her life. What I ate, what the weather was like, who came and visited, how little she was wrapped in her swaddling blankets, rocking her in our glider, getting her to sleep, how my lamp created a calming light when I fed her at night, bath-times on our kitchen counter,…..everything.

And now a year has passed in a blink of an eye.

Well….almost in the blink of an eye…..getting up with her 4 times a night and her colicky stage seemed to go on forever and ever.

So……Happy Birthday to my beautiful, sweet girl Aubree Ryan!

But onto the real reason for this post:

Aubree’s Room is somewhat smaller. I didn’t have room for a changing table and a dresser so we went searching for a dresser that could be used as a changing table. We didn’t have a lot of money to spend on it so we bought this one at Target for $150.00.

002

This thing was a pain in my butt to put together

003

It is small. The changing pad takes up 95% of the top

001

One of the drawers was falling apart and I was sick & tired of this thing

One day browsing the Habitat for Humanity Re-Store I found this dresser for $50.00!

037

I loved the size of it and all the drawers.

038

Wasn’t a fan of the oak or hardware but that was easily changed with a little paint

039

I loved the size of the top.

After a month I finally got around to painting it. (It’s hard to find time with 2 little munchkins running and crawling around)

Here is the finished product!:

0070

I primed & painted the body white. The drawers were painted a turquoise color. I then sanded them and stained them. I finished with a clear wax.

The hardware was spray painted black.

007

Much more room on top now

006

Jax wanted to get in the picture too

013

As we were moving the old white dresser out of the room the entire back literally fell off. In the trash it went.

Just goes to say that just because something is newer and more expensive….doesn’t mean it’s necessarily better.

Love her new dresser! Let me know what you think!

2 thoughts on “Out With the New, In With the Old:Dresser/Changing Table

Leave a Reply

