Paint

Drop Leaf Table

You know when you start a project and you think it’s going to be a piece of cake and then it turns out to be a whole lot more complicated than you thought???

And weeks later you’re thinking to yourself how could you of ever thought it was going to be so simple?

This happens to me more often than I’d like it to.

And it was the case with this table.

Spring2014#3 016

She looks innocent but believe me she isn’t. This thing had layer after layer after layer of chipped and cracked old paint.

Spring2014#3 018

I sanded and stripped this thing again and again and again and again and again.

And again.

And again.

Annoyed yet?

I just really want to stress that this thing was A LOT of work! 🙂

If you try to paint over chipped paint it is going to look ugly so that is why so much sanding and stripping took place.

*A tip for any of you who are going to be re-doing a piece of furniture that has a lot of old chipped paint:  I stripped and sanded this thing A LOT of times and I still could not get some of the old paint off. What I ended up doing was spackling over the chipped/cracked paint. After it dried I sanded it until it was smooth. This will especially work well on small areas!

After I sanded the spackle, I then primed and painted and did some distressing.

Here is the after:

dropleaftable2

Much better, don’t ya think?!

dropleaftable1

I think drop leaf tables are beautiful and very versatile. Use as a buffet type table, a sofa table, an entryway table, a desk, etc. The list goes on and on.

dropleaftable3

Here’s a close up of the distressing I did. It is really the little details that can take something from average to great.

This one will be for sale at my booth in October at Junktoberfest in McCook, NE!

Hope you all have a great week and thanks for stopping by!

I’d love for you to follow my blog!

Sharing With: Cozy Little House, Coastal Charm,

Leave a Reply

