Paint

Chair Makeover

Hobby Lobby has opened here and I cannot tell  you how ecstatic I am! It’s just so amazing.

My life is officially complete now.

I went there twice on the first day it opened and told my girls that we will be spending a lot of our time there in the future.

I apologize in advance to Matt for our bank account.

Kidding………….but not really.

I bought this at the Habitat for Humanity Re-Store :

002

Are you thinking what I’m thinking? What a beautiful shade of orange, right?! This chair belongs in someone’s shag carpeted living room back in the 1970s.

First thing I did was rip out the seat cushion and that lovely orange pillow looking thing.

004

I tossed the back pillow thing in the garbage can. Already so much better.

Using pliers I removed all the 752 staples from the seat cushion and in the trash went the lovely orange fabric.

The rest is pretty easy peasy.

After:

CHAIRMAKEOVERBEFOREANDAFTER

Amazing transformation huh?! The first thing I did was sand the chair and stain it a much darker color.

chairmakeover4

I re-covered the seat cushion with a really cute printed fabric I found at Hobby Lobby. I just used a staple gun to attach the fabric to the back of the cushion.

chairmakeover2

I used a pillow for the back of the chair. You can buy pillow covers for pretty cheap so I did just that. I had an old pillow lying around that I used. This is a cheaper option than buying a whole brand new pillow.

chairmakeover3

Love the curved lines on this chair.

chairmakeover5

For the strip of fabric at the front of the chair I hot glue gunned 2 pieces of rope together then covered it with the fabric. I then used a hot glue gun to attach it to the front of the chair.

chairmakeover1

I am just so happy with how it came out! Altogether this project cost me $25.00.

Not too bad for an accent chair.

Have a fun and safe 4th of July!!!

 

Leave a Reply

