Paint

Suitcase Re-purposed

If you get on Pinterest there’s around 248 different ideas on re-purposing an old suitcase. Really…. I counted.

But one of those ideas caught my eye: turning it into a cat or dog bed.

I’m allergic to cats so mine would only be for the dog species. Plus, I think cats are kind of annoying so even if I wasn’t allergic I don’t think we’d have any anyways.

The hardest part of turning my old suitcase into a dog bed was breaking the top part off from the bottom part. You’re going to need a lot of elbow grease and patience. Patience is one of those things I’m still working on in my 28 years of life…….

I literally used a hammer, pliers (which I broke), and a screw-driver.

Old suitcases were made to last……literally last through a F5 tornado……. so I spent a half hour hammering and prying off the hinges. But I finally did it and the hard part was over.

I bought a pillow and fabric for the bed. I simply cut the fabric a little bigger to tuck over and around the pillow. I didn’t attach it in any way so that it can be washed when needed. I then used a hot glue gun and attached the fabric around the top part of the suit case. If you have a cat or dog that tends to scratch a lot then you might want to use a stronger glue.

And here is the finished product:

010

Looks pretty comfortable to me!

011

Another idea I saw was to attach legs to the bottom of the suitcase…. I thought it was cute enough without them though.

012

I love taking something and totally re-purposing it. This is much cuter/unique than just a plain old pet bed from Wal-mart.

I hope you all had a blessed Thanksgiving and thanks for stopping by!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

