Paint

Gossip Bench Re-vamped

Happy New Year’s Eve everyone!!

Do you have any big plans for tonight?!

Me…..well more than likely I will be ringing in the new year on my couch in my living room in my pjs. I will probably be the only one up…. Matt can’t make it past 11:00 p.m. most nights and unless I want little terrors the next morning I should probably put my girls to bed before then. But my dogs might be up so at least I wont be completley alone. Exciting stuff, huh??  🙂

Before I got married and had kids I had visions of ringing in the New Year in a nice, shiny black limo, fancy dresses and black suits, champagne,  a nice restaurant, lots of friends surrounding me, etc.   Lol, that’s not quite the way real life works…well for some people it does….but for most the people I know that’s not quite how the night goes. After kids, a mortgage, bills, etc. staying at home ringing in the New Year isn’t so bad actually. And who knows….maybe someday down the road I’ll get to ride in a fancy limo and wear a pretty dress for New Years Eve. 🙂

A while ago I bought a old, oak gossip bench. I didn’t take a before picture (hate when I forget to take one), so here  it is all done:

055

I think this piece turned out absolutley adorable and so did a lot of others. I sold this at a show back in October pretty quickly.

061

When I paint pieces to sell I tend to stick with more neutral colors. Obviously the color white can go with most colors while red only goes with a few so I tend to think people are more apt to buy a more neutral colored piece because it can go with most of their decor.  But with this piece I just knew I had to paint it yellow.

058

I had some yellow paint leftover from painting my daughter’s bedroom so used that. I love when I don’t have to go out and buy new paint. I heavily distressed the piece using a fine sandpaper.

057

I didn’t know what fabric I wanted to use to re-cover the seat. While strolling through Hobby Lobby looking at all their fabrics this black and white printed fabric caught my eye and I thought it would add the perfect vintage vibe to the gossib bench.

056

I sealed the piece with a clear wax. When painting anything if you want it to be protected from chips, etc. you must use a protective coat on top…..whether it’s a wax, polycrlic spray, polyuerethane, etc.

I hope you all have a great New Year’s Eve!! And if any of you get to dress up all fancy and ride in a limo then have a blast 🙂  If I’m feeling up to it I might just go buy a bottle of sparkling grape juice and make some snacks for the night and have a big ol’ party with my little family. Jayde will probably want to play Princess Memory, Aubree will probably mess up the cards on the floor 8 times while Jayde cries and Aubree laughs, sparkling grape juice will probably be spilled out of small cups creating a sticky mess, Jayde and Aubree will want to watch a movie that we’ve already watched 27 times this last year, and Matt will probably fall asleep at 10:36 p.m. But you know what….. I wouldn’t have it any other way. Who needs a fancy limo anyways.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

