Paint

Old Drawer Spruced Up

This week has given us some nice weather which has been so great and makes me anxious for Spring. We don’t have a heater in our garage so all of my projects I want to do have been put “on hold” until some nicer weather appears.

I’m not going to lie, it’s kind of nice to have a break though and focus on other things I need to get done. Like cleaning, organizing, getting my office desk and room organized, getting caught up on laundry, etc.

Those things don’t really sound like much fun, huh?

I would much rather be in my garage painting or sanding something but it always feels good to get my house organized.

Right now I am working on the baby’s room. We found out last Thursday that we are having another GIRL! 3 girls are going to be so much fun and I can’t wait to meet her in May. I am excited to show you the room when it is completed and have a lot of fun projects I am doing for it… all of which I plan to share with you all.

I bought an old dresser drawer for $3 at a thrift store not really knowing what I was going to do with it but after finding a bucket of old spindles at the Habitat for Humanity Re-Store I knew exactly what I wanted to do.

003

Pretty adorable, right?! The first step I did was to prime and paint the dresser drawer. I then distressed it with my electric sander.

007

I turned the drawer upside down and used wood glue to attach the spindles to the bottom of the drawer. I let that dry over night and then used my drill to screw in some screws to make sure the spindles were not going anywhere.

006

I finished by waxing the drawer with a clear wax.

004

You could use this as a planter outside, all you would have to do is drill some holes in the bottom for the water to run out. Or storage for toys in a kid’s room. This would also be really cute in a bathroom to hold towels, etc. There’s really so many uses for this!

I hope you all are having a great Monday and thanks for stopping by!

 

 

Leave a Reply

