Paint

Chair Make-Over

I really like making over old chairs.

New chairs in stores are usually pretty pricey so if I can make over a chair for around $20 I am all for it.

I bought this chair for $10; it had been sitting in someone’s attic for God knows how long…

001

A really nice shade of pink, don’t you think?Ā  šŸ˜›

This might scare someone off but instead of focusing on the ugly pink cover, dinged up chair frame and accumulation of dirt…… I try to focus on the lines of the piece, if it’s sturdy or not (a lesson I have learned), and if it’s possible for me to make it over.

First step is to take off the seat and back cover. On chairs like these the seat is usually screwed in somehow from the bottom so once you find those screws it is easy to take it off. The back part of this was stapled on so I had to remove all of those staples using pliers.

002

And this is what you will have left over……

Next step is to clean, clean and clean.Ā  Windex and Lysol were used heavily.

I then sanded it using an electric sander and gave it a fresh coat of stain.

044

And here she is all done. I stapled a fun print onto the existing chair frame and pad. If the pad is in bad shape you can always replace it.

043

Chairs like these are such a unique shape which I like. Unique is good in my book.

049

I wanted to do something a little different and so covered the back in burlap. I think it’s kind of a fun addition.

046

Chairs like these are super super comfty. This is also a must in my book. Why buy furniture that’s hard and uncomfortable? I’ve just never understood that…..

039

So for under $20 I have a basically brand new, fun, comfortable chair.

Yay me! šŸ™‚

Hope you all are having a great week and thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

