Home Decorating

Little Girl’s Armoire

For a year I’ve been on the hunt……

Not a deer hunt, bear hunt, or antelope hunt…… no guns or camo are needed for this kind of hunt.

No need to sit in the cold for hours and no need for hours of silence.

I have been on an Armoire hunt.

(I’ve never understood what there is to like about hunting animals anyways. Sorry all you hunters out there.)

For about a year I searched for an old armoire for my 2 little girls’ room. And about a month ago or so I found it! The perfect one at a GREAT price.

IMG_5921

This thing was HEAVY. Real HEAVY. Not that I lifted it or anything but Matt told me it was HEAVY.

IMG_5922

I scored this for $50. An amazing price for such a large, in good shape piece.

IMG_5924

For this project I bought the Rust-Oleum Chalked Paint from Home Depot. I had never used it before but saw some good reviews on it and it was about half the price of other chalk paint brands I have used before so I gave it a go.

IMG_5937

I wanted the armoire super girly/shabby chic so I went with a linen color and a soft pink. I love how it turned out!

IMG_5939

I was very impressed with the Rust-Oleum chalk paint. It was actually easier to work with than the other more expensive brand I have tried in the past. It took about 3 coats to cover it completely but it dries so fast that it only took me 2 days to complete.

IMG_5932

I used a pink milk paint for my accent color. I have never worked with milk paint before and I can’t say I really loved it. It was very, very thin and went on very sheer. Once it dried you could see the color more but it took many coats of the milk paint to get the color I wanted.

IMG_5940

Even though it wasn’t my favorite paint to work with the outcome was very pretty. So I will probably work with milk paint again in the future.

IMG_5941

This armoire is very large but with 2 little girls sharing 1 semi-small room, I need all the storage I can get. And this armoire offers lots of storage.

IMG_5938

IMG_5934

I love all the detail on this armoire.

IMG_5942

I’m always amazed at how well chalk paint distresses. Even though it’s pricier I do think it’s worth it.

Thank you all for stopping by! Hope everyone had a great 4th of July!!

 

2 thoughts on “Little Girl’s Armoire

  1. I love it! And I can’t believe you got if for $50!!! Wow! You’re an awesome designer and have a way with words too. Overall I just think you’re swell and am glad you’re my friend!

Leave a Reply

